A Tangled (World Wide) Web to Weave

Posted: May 24, 2012 by sirdiggy in Uncategorized

Yes yes… I’m supposed to be writing a follow-up to my last Blue and Orange Prism entry.  But the conversation of banking potential championship hopes on the play of Amaré and Melo will have to wait.  I have bigger fish to fry currently.

I received my manuscript back from my editor – minus one chapter that I forgot to send to her (d’oh).  I’m pretty happy with the level of work she put in, and that she understood the tone and voice I wanted to write with.  Scanning through her changes and remarks, I see where I have more work to do, and where I may disagree with certain suggestions (nothing huge, though).  The important thing is I needed someone to straighten out my habit of sometimes writing like I think.  In other words, I don’t think in a straight line: my thoughts have a lot of sidebars to them.  Many of these mental sidebars involve naked women and big breasts (Kanye shrug).

Any-who… I was on the phone last night with my man JD.   We were talking about my plans for the book, and while he is very knowledgeable, I don’t think he fully understands going into business for yourself.  He equated having a business line of credit to having personal debt (it’s not), and he recited certain axioms from Dave Ramsey’s The Total Money Makeover book.  If you peeped my other blog posts, you’ll know I’ve read that book too.  The difference is that Dave Ramsey’s book is excellent for organizing your personal finances.  My aunt, who started a real estate investment group with a few partners and has read Ramsey’s book, even admitted that a business needs a line of credit.  To make a long story short: I believe Ramsey will help you get your personal shit together, but once you’re ready to move into the business world, the advice of people like Robert Kiyosaki and Tim Ferriss can take your further.

There was one suggestion JD did make that made sense, a suggestion that I’ve had in the back of my mind.  He feels that I should start a blog about the book’s content to test the audience and gauge interest.  It’s a good idea, and I told him that I have no idea on attracting website traffic.  JD’s former morning show co-host suggested I do a video blog (another idea in the back of my head) because it “forces you to stay short and sweet” in terms of your message.

Again, it all sounds great.  I can script out some three to five-minute pieces, record myself on my phone and create videos to upload.  The question becomes “Where do I create the blog?”.  Should I just do another WordPress blog and pay extra to upload video content?  Should I create a web/blog site on wix.com?  Should I get some help with this given I know little about website design?  And as I previously stated, how do I attract traffic?

Kiyosaki always says to reach out to people who have already been successful in what you’re trying to do.  Thankfully, I know a few people like that who are web-savvy.  I’ll be hollarin’ at them between now and the weekend.

 

Oh, and if you’re reading this and you have had success creating a web or blog site (and you’re in a sharing, sage-like mood), give me a shout.  I’d love to learn a few things.  Thanks in advance!

Leave a Reply

